What is the one movie you can’t get enough of?

I find it hard to narrow it down to just one.  I actually have several movies that I can watch over and over again without getting tired of them.

One of my favorite movies is Love Actually.  I don’t usually enjoy British movies, but this is one is lovely and funny and just excellent.  One of the best scenes in the entire movie is when the little boy is telling his dad about the girl he adores who is moving away and now she’ll never know how he feels.  The dad gives him a pep talk, then the boy says, “Okay, Dad. Let’s do it. Let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love.”  I love that line!

love-actually-poster

Another of my favorite movies is Steel Magnolias.  The scene in the graveyard at Shelby’s funeral when M’Lynn is talking about all the things that she can do that Shelby can’t and never will gets to me every time.  Followed hard on the heels by the scene where Clairee tells M’Lynn to hit Ouiser, saying, “We’ll sell t-shirts sayin’ “I SLAPPED OUISER BOUDREAUX!”  When M’Lynn doesn’t, and Ouiser twists out of Clairee’s grip, Clairee tells M’Lynn, “M’Lynn, you just missed the chance of a lifetime! Half o’ Chiquapin Parish’d give their eye teeth to take a whack at Ouiser!”  That scene always makes me laugh.

steel-magnolias-original-film-poster__oPt

Steel Magnolias was filmed less than an hour from where my parents grew up.  My aunt and her husband were living just a couple of streets over from the house that was used as M’Lynn and Drum’s house in the movie.  I remember her talking about seeing the film’s stars around town when they weren’t filming.

My third favorite movie of all time is the cult favorite Pitch Black.  This was the film that introduced me to Vin Diesel.  He was the anti-hero that everyone ended up loving, in spite of the fact that he was a killer.

pitch-black

One of my favorite scenes is when Vin Diesel’s character Riddick kills the winged creature by snapping its neck, saying, “Did not know who he was fuckin’ with.”  Sure, this is a horror movie, but it’s still one of my favorites.  I can watch it over and over and not get sick of it.

Last but not least is Shooter.  They show it on TNT about once a month.  If I catch it, I will sit and watch the entire movie EVERY SINGLE TIME.  I never get tired of it, no matter how many times I see it.

shooter_ver2

These are some of my favorite movies.  They run the gamut from romantic comedy to horror to action flicks.  I can’t pick just one.  Can you?  What is your favorite movie?

2 thoughts on “What is the one movie you can’t get enough of?

  1. Shawshank Redemption and Green Mile. They pull me in every single time. Also, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. It’s has an emotional feel to it that a lot of movies don’t. I also love Steel Magnolias and Pitch Black. I haven’t seen Shooter, but since you love some of the same movies I do I feel I will have to check it out.

    • For an action movie, Shooter is pretty good. Mark Wahlberg plays a Force Recon Marine sniper who gets pulled out of retirement to consult for a group with government ties. I won’t tell you the plot, but it’s worth watching, I think.

      One of my favorite scenes is at the very end of the movie, where Mark’s character is confronting a dirty US Senator. The Senator blusters, “I’m a United States Senator!” and Mark is like, “Exactly.” Meaning that as a Senator, the standard is higher, as it should be.

      And Love Actually is hilarious. It’s all these different characters, whose lives intersect (some more than others), with all their various love stories. It’s adorable and funny. You’ll like it too.

Leave a Reply

