Blog award

Yesterday, I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Laura at Grimm’s Furry Tail.  I wanted to thank her for nominating me, even though I’m not sure I deserve the honor.  Be sure to check out her blog, where she writes about life with her three dogs (who are adorable, by the way).

Sometimes I feel like I’m writing this blog more for me than anything.  It’s easy to forget sometimes that I have more than one or two followers!

Now, there are a few things I have to do to make this all official and whatnot.

  • Display the award certificate on your website.  

versatilebloggernominations

  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award. 
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself.
  1. I really want my next dog to be a rescue pit bull.
  2. I love to read.  I use Goodreads to track the books I’ve read.  My goal this year was 70 books.  Don’t think I’m going to meet my goal this year.
  3. I was so late to the George R. R. Martin Game of Thrones party.  I didn’t know what I was missing!
  4. I admire Elizabeth I.  She was a strong woman at a time in history where strong women weren’t appreciated.
  5. I never know what to buy people for Christmas or birthdays.
  6. I wasn’t a dog person until we got our Akita in 2003.  He made me a dog person.
  7. I don’t have the greenest of thumbs, but I’ve somehow managed to keep all but one of my plants alive.  The one that died was staying with my mother at the time (we were moving), so that’s not really my fault.

 

5 thoughts on “Blog award

  1. I think we all feel at times like no one is reading what we write and frankly, it’s okay if we write only for ourselves. That’s pretty much what I do and if someone else happens to appreciate my posts, then that is icing on the cake. Obviously, I appreciate what you write and do!

    • Blogs like yours (and doggy blogs) have convinced me that I want a rescue pit bull. Thank you for everything you’re doing to educate people that pit bulls aren’t like what the media would have you believe.

  2. I think it is very noble, thoughtful and awesome that you want to rescue a pit bull. There are so many in shelters and rescue groups that deserve a second chance. As long as you can socialize, train, exercise and deal with possible dog aggression, pit bulls truly are a wonderful and remarkable breed. Like any dog, they can only become as good or bad as they are allowed and a friendly, socialized bully can do just about anything.

    When you are ready, I’m sure you’ll find the perfect pooch, even if it happens to be another breed or mix entirely. No matter which dog you choose, I know he or she will have big shoes to fill! :)

  3. I think it’s great that you want to rescue a pit bull. I love those dogs, and all the ones I’ve encountered are sweet as can be, but I have cats. Maybe one day When all my kitties have passed (though they shall never pass. They are immortal, dammnit! don’t say such things!) I will adopt a lovey pit too.

    • There’s a pit bull rescue (The Sula Foundation) in New Orleans that has a couple of dogs in foster that are living with cats. So pitties can live with cats and other small animals. They just need proper introductions and to understand that there are boundaries.

      I’ve really come around to the idea of having a pit bull in the last year or so, since I started following a couple of blogs written by pit bull owners. Maybe one day, we’ll both be pit bull parents!

Comments are closed.