Crawfish etoufee

This is my mother-in-law’s recipe for crawfish (or shrimp) etoufee. I don’t know where she came across the recipe, but I’ve modified it slightly from her recipe anyhow.

2 onions, chopped
1 1/2 cups chopped celery
1 green pepper, chopped
garlic, finely minced (save yourself the time, buy the minced garlic on the spice aisle)
1 bunch green onions, chopped
1 bunch parsley, chopped (you can also use cilantro, or dry parsley if you prefer)
1/2 cup margarine

At this point, I like to add a little seasoning. A few shots of Tabasco, a generous sprinkling of Tony Chachere’s Original Creole Seasoning, and some crushed red pepper help give this some zip.

1 lb. crawfish or shrimp, peeled and deveined (I prefer more crawfish in mine, so I use 2 lbs.)
1 10 3/4 oz. can cream of celery soup
1 10 3/4 oz. can cream of mushroom soup
1 10 3/4 oz. can tomato soup (Not called for in the original recipe, but added because it helps give it a bit more of a kick)

Cook celery, onions, garlic, parsley and green pepper in margarine until soft.

Add crawfish or shrimp and soups. Simmer for 20 minutes.

Serve over cooked rice.

100_0238

(image by me)

