#4, 30 Letter Challenge

Your sibling (or closest relative)

I’ve always wanted to say this to you, because I think it’s high time you grew up and put your big boy pants on.

Sometimes, I don’t know what to make of you.  How can two people, born to the same parents, be so different?

You quit  jobs when the going gets a little tough, or you’re having a problem with someone you work with.  Me?  I suck it up and deal with my issues.  You’re irresponsible.  I’ve always had to be the responsible one.  You act more like a teenager than a 34 year old guy should.  We’re only three and a half years apart in age, and it feels more like ten to me.

You act so incredibly childish when someone asks you to do something for them, just because it’s going to impose on you just the teeniest, tiniest bit.  I was the one who was calling our mother when she was in the hospital to have the surgery to repair her heart valve and listening to her cry over the phone because she was scared.  Where the fuck were you?  Staying up until midnight, then sleeping half the day?  You couldn’t be bothered to go to the hospital to check on her.  I swear to God, I felt like strangling you for that.  Sometimes, I still do.

I resent like hell the fact that you have done fuck all with your life.  It pisses me off to no end that you seem to expect everyone else to do things for you when you won’t even make an effort to do them yourself.

I think you’re a spoiled brat.  I think you’re oblivious to how much of an asshole you are sometimes.  Believe me, there are times when I’d love to slap you senseless just on general principle.

I think it’s past time that you grew the hell up.

