State Farm update

Since I posted this about my insurance woes with State Farm, we have moved all our insurance policies to Farm Bureau.

I realized it was only a matter of time before the State Farm underwriters got their way and cancelled my renters’ policy.  And if that happened, I knew I’d have a hard time getting renters’ or homeowners’ insurance with another company.  So I pulled the plug before they did, and I’m glad.

Because funnily enough, Farm Bureau is only a few dollars more a month than what I was paying with State Farm.  This means that if we don’t get any tickets or have any claims, in a year or two, Farm Bureau will actually be cheaper than State Farm.

Funny how that works out, isn’t it?

I would advise anyone who has had an issue with their insurance carrier because of their pet to shop around.  Be proactive.  Don’t let your current carrier cancel your policy before you’ve had a chance to move your policies elsewhere.  It’s harder to get insurance if you’ve had a company cancel your policy than it is if you move everything before they cancel you.  (For the record, I told my new agent exactly what had happened with my dog and my former neighbor and he didn’t consider it a problem.)

So if, like me, you’ve had an incident involving your dog, stay on top of what’s happening with the claim and your policy.  I got lucky because one of the girls in my agent’s office called me (she wasn’t supposed to) and informed me that my policy was being cancelled.  This came about after my agent received an email from the underwriters indicating they were going to cancel my policy.  So I got a heads up about the situation because she jumped the gun.

Of course, at the time, I didn’t see it that way.  I was pissed off and upset because OUR CLAIM HASN’T EVEN BEEN SETTLED YET, but they’re talking about cancelling our policy.  I called my husband and he promptly called the agent himself and demanded to know what the hell was going on.

To be fair, our State Farm agent was trying to prevent the cancellation of our policy.  He thought it was ridiculous that the underwriters were doing a policy review on a claim that hasn’t been settled and he told them that they were making a premature decision without knowing how it was all going to turn out.

They hadn’t even followed their own accepted guidelines regarding my particular type of claim.  Nor had they communicated anything to me with regards to the potential cancellation of my policy.  Also, weirdly enough, I never got my renters’ policy in the mail.

I think the review was triggered when we converted our homeowners’ policy to a renters’ policy after we sold our house.  The renters’ policy had been in place about a month when I got the phone call about the cancellation.  If I hadn’t gotten the renters’ policy, there wouldn’t have been anything to review.  Of course, six months from now when I tried to get a homeowners’ policy on our new house, it would have been a different story.  That’s when they would have denied me coverage.  Or if they didn’t deny coverage and wrote the policy, the underwriters would have reviewed it and we’d be having to find a new insurance company anyway.

So all in all, I’m glad I’m not a State Farm customer any more.  Because when I needed them to be, they weren’t very good neighbors.

2 thoughts on “State Farm update

  1. Pingback: This is the last time I’ll mention State Farm, I swear | Blah, Blah, Blah

  2. Pingback: It’s over. | I Do Declare

Comments are closed.