My favorite things

Favorite thing #1: books

I love to read.  Between my husband and myself, we have hundreds of books.  I’m one of those people who will read one book by an author and if I like it, I will then read everything that particular author has written.  I’m also a big fan of expanding my horizons and reading a genre I’ve never read before, like westerns or fantasy.

(image by me)

Of course, there are a couple of authors that I have a love/hate relationship with.  I love most of Jennifer Weiner’s early work, but lately, I’ve been less than impressed.  Instead of buying her books, I’ve been borrowing them from the library because they just haven’t been that good!  I also feel this way about Phillipa Gregory.  I really enjoyed her Boleyn series of books, but the rest have been lackluster – or just flat out freaky (the Wideacre trilogy).  I stopped buying Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books because they just keep retreading the same ground over and over and frankly, I’m sick of it.

Currently, I’m a big fan of James Lee Burke.  His Dave Robicheaux series is incredible and makes me think of home.  Tess Gerritsen is another favorite.  I started reading her Rizzoli & Isles series after the first season of the TNT show aired.  I also like Kathy Reichs, but I went completely off Bones after that bullshit with Zack being the Apprentice crap.  I’ve been watching the current season so far and I’m still having trouble getting used to the idea of Bones and Booth together.  Another author that I came to by way of the television series is Longmire author Craig Johnson.  I’ve read three of his so far and I think I may have made my husband a fan too.  I have other authors that I read pretty religiously, but we’d be here all day if I started listing them all.

Who are your favorite authors?  Why do you like their work?

