Sean Connery will always be Bond to me.

I saw the trailer for the new Bond film Skyfall, starring Daniel Craig, this weekend.  I commented to my husband that I’ve never seen either of the Bond films that Craig has starred in.  To me, Daniel Craig doesn’t fit the part at all.  He’s not that attractive, for one thing.  For another, he lacks the charm necessary, in my opinion, to pull off Bond.

Sean Connery, the first Bond, set the bar so high, no one else can compare.  The only one who even came close was Pierce Brosnan, in my opinion.

Now, I don’t know about you, but Sean Connery is a lot more attractive than George Lazenby (the Australian actor who played Bond in only one film).  George has an unfortunate resemblance to Prince Charles, if you ask me.  I think it’s the ears.  He just looks uptight, unlike Connery, who has a devilish twinkle in his eye.

See what I mean?  George comes off the loser when compared to Connery.  This may be part of the reason why he only did one Bond film before Connery returned to the series in Diamonds Are Forever before stepping down and being replaced by Roger Moore.

Roger Moore is probably the second most well-known Bond.  I was never very impressed with him myself.  Compared to Connery, he just wasn’t that great.  The wittiness of Bond is where he fails for me.  With Connery, Bond’s snarky remarks seem to come naturally, like something the actor himself would say.  For Moore, his delivery is more like he’s trying to be witty and isn’t entirely comfortable with it.

Timothy Dalton was the next to play Bond.  He was initially considered after Sean Connery left the series after the release of You Only Live Twice in 1967, but refused the role because he thought he was too young.  Twenty years later, he played Bond in two films before leaving the series.

Dalton wasn’t a bad Bond, but the two films he did weren’t the greatest and a third never got past the development stage.  He left the series at that point.  The period from 1989 (Licence to Kill) to 1995 (Goldeneye) was Bond-less, where previously Bond films had been released roughly every two years.

Pierce Brosnan became the new Bond when the series was revived in 1995 with Goldeneye.  I’ve always liked Pierce, so I thought he had the charisma and wit to pull off Bond.  He actually ended up being my second favorite Bond, with Connery being my favorite.

Brosnan was actually considered for the role before Timothy Dalton, but his wife had recently been diagnosed with cancer and he turned the part down in order to care for her.  I’m glad he did eventually get to play Bond, because after Connery, he’s been my favorite actor in the role.

Who is your favorite Bond?

2 thoughts on “Sean Connery will always be Bond to me.

  1. Connery, then George, then Tim. George had a tough row to hoe, following Sean, but I thought he did extremely well, especially with the incredible downer ending he was given. I loved Tim’s intensity, something I never saw in Pierce. Roger Moore just never worked as Bond for me, nor does Daniel Craig. Complicating this is the fact that I utterly despise Judi Dench’s horrific M; unlike Bernard Lee, I can’t believe for an instant that she has any place in that office.

Comments are closed.