These kids don’t know what they’re missing.

Today is Halloween.  All Hallows Eve.  Samhain.  This time of year always makes me reminisce about what Halloween was like when I was a kid.

These days most people don’t know their neighbors very well, if at all.  Unlike when I was growing up, kids don’t get to experience the thrill of getting dressed up and ringing their neighbors’ doorbells.  Most of them only get to experience Halloween through their church or local youth group or by their parents taking them to a few select friends’ houses.

When my brother and I were growing up, our parents knew just about everyone on our street and even a few people one street over.  We would hit every house on our street, then go the next block over and hit the houses of the people our parents knew that lived there.  We would end up with so much candy, we nearly couldn’t carry it all.  This was back when the rumors of poisoned/tampered Halloween candy swirled, but I don’t remember our parents every worrying about it.  They knew the people whose houses we visited, so they knew they had no cause for concern.

It was great fun for us to go ring doorbells and yell “Trick or Treat!” when the door opened.  For a select few, we would bust out a special Halloween chant of

“Trick or Treat

Smell my feet

Give me something good to eat!”

I think my dad is responsible for teaching us that.  That sounds like something he’d come up with.

Whenever we rang a doorbell, whoever answered the door would always “guess” who/what we were supposed to be.  They would always guess wrong (on purpose, I think) and we would “correct” them enthusiastically.

Those days are long gone.  I sometimes wish we could go back to those simpler times.

Does anyone else have any fun Halloween memories?

2 thoughts on “These kids don’t know what they’re missing.

Comments are closed.