Building update

I went out to our site on Monday.  Nothing had changed, but as I was leaving, I got a text from our builder that said “digging starts tomorrow”.  Needless to say, I was excited, because progress has been too slow (in my mind) up to this point.  We’re a month in and all that’s been done is the lot being cleared.

The husband was out that way on Wednesday, and he reported that the framework was in place for the foundation.  So I went out the next day, thinking that even if they hadn’t done much digging, there should at least some digging.  Nothing had changed.  The next morning, I sent our builder a text asking “what happened to digging starting on Tuesday?”.  So far, I haven’t received a reply.

What aggravates me about it is that I feel like we got lied to.  I understand that something may have happened to delay digging that was beyond their control, like the backhoe guy having something else scheduled and therefore not being able to start when our builder thought he could.  But don’t send me a message telling me you’re going to do something and then not do it.  That’s one of the fastest ways to piss me off.

All our builder had to do was send another text, or even an email, saying that there had been a delay and they wouldn’t be able to start when he had anticipated.  That I would have understood.

I know from my research before we decided to build that there are three major variables in building.  They are speed, quality, and cost.  Most contractors will agree that you can get two of the three, but not all three.  You have to decide what’s most important to you.  If speed is important to you, are you willing to sacrifice quality or cost to make it happen?  Or, if you’re like me, quality and cost are more important than speed.  That doesn’t mean it isn’t hard to deal with delays.

