Crawfish cornbread

This is a great twist on cornbread that everyone will enjoy, even those who don’t like crawfish all that much.

1 cup cornmeal (I use Aunt Jemima yellow cornmeal)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 eggs
1 medium onion, chopped fine
1/4 cup Jalepenos, chopped (I use canned diced green chiles)
1/3 cup oil
1/2 lb. shredded cheese (your choice)
1 can creamed corn
1 lb. crawfish tail meat, drained

If you choose to, you can cook the vegetables until tender. (I don’t, because I like my vegetables to have a bit of a crunch.)

Mix all dry ingredients (first 3), followed by the others. Bake at 375° F for 40 minutes or until golden brown. (I bake mine in a glass 9×13 pan.)

After baking, allow to cool. Then slice and serve!

100_0230

(image by me)

Recipe taken from: Cooking Louisiana

