The end is in sight!

We’re nearing the end of our house build!  You have no idea how happy I am to be able to say those words.  We’ve had to deal with delays and unforeseen problems – two solid weeks of rain, preventing them from getting drywall delivered and hung  and a freak hail storm that necessitates putting a new roof on our house – but the finish line is in sight.

The painters have been at the house all week and the interior looks fabulous.  The granite counters are going in tomorrow, and the lights are being installed as well.  Our driveway is formed and ready to be poured (possibly as early as tomorrow).  The garage door was installed today.  The floors are scheduled to start on Monday.

Things are moving quickly now and I couldn’t be happier about it.  I’m ready to move into my house!

All that's left to do is install the counters and the backsplash and glaze the cabinets. (photo by me)

All that’s left to do is install the counters and the backsplash and glaze the cabinets. (photo by me)

Living room (photo by me)

Living room (photo by me)

Tomorrow I’m going to Home Depot to pick up the mirror I ordered online.  The matching vanity is due to arrive in a few days.

The vanity I ordered from Home Depot. (image from Home Depot's site)

The vanity I ordered from Home Depot. (image from Home Depot’s site)

I can’t wait for everything to be installed.  You have no idea how impatient I am for this project to be done.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned from this experience, it’s to expect delays.  You can’t control the weather and that is the biggest delaying factor I can think of.  Other delays come when items you need aren’t in stock and you have to wait on them to come in (like my kitchen sink!).  But seeing the final product makes it all worth it in the end.

2 thoughts on “The end is in sight!

    • Isn’t that vanity great? I wanted something that had that heavily carved/crafted look, since all our cabinets have a lot of detail to them. Unfortunately, I did go over my allotted budget, but I don’t mind too much since I’ve saved money in other places.

Comments are closed.