Sometimes I think IQ tests should be mandatory for a driver’s license.

Pet Peeve #2: People who don’t know how to drive.

I wonder sometimes about people’s common sense.  It seems that lately, common sense is lacking in our society.  Take what happened to me earlier as an example.

I was leaving the dry cleaners after having dropped off the husband’s clothes.  The dry cleaner is in a small shopping center.  The street in front of this shopping center is one of the main streets in town.  It is a four lane road with a turning lane dividing the east and westbound lanes.  I was making a left turn to head west to the house.  The traffic in the eastbound lanes was clear, so I pulled out and got in the turning lane, intending to ease into traffic in the westbound lanes.

Some idiot wanting to turn swooped in front of me into the turn lane.  If I hadn’t been paying attention, they would have gotten rear-ended.

This brings me to the point of this story, which is if someone is in the turning lane signalling they’re coming out and you’re needing to get in the turning lane so you can turn, get behind them.  Don’t swoop in front of them and potentially cause an accident.  Just pull in behind them, and once they’ve pulled into traffic, then you can pull forward and make your turn.

Basically, don’t be an idiot like the person who did this to me.

