I just can’t with the lack of logic.

Pet Peeve #6: People who ask you to participate in something, then don’t supply you with the information you need in a timely fashion (or at all, for that matter).

The husband got asked by someone at his workplace to participate in a local community program wherein people in the community volunteer to buy school supplies for needy kids in the area.  They give you the child’s name, what grade they’re going to be in, and where they will be attending school.  Then the volunteers go buy the supplies their assigned child requires and turn them in to the coordinator to be distributed to the kids.

Sounds great in theory, right?  Too bad it’s not working out that way.

So the coordinator at hubby’s workplace finally tells him who the kid we’ve been assigned is and where he goes to school.  She also says that Walmart has the list of required supplies.  So I go to Walmart.  The only lists I can find are for the elementary and junior high schools (and there are a lot of them).  I went through all the lists – nothing.  I asked an employee who was putting out more copies of lists and was told that they don’t have lists for the high schools.

Well, that’s just ducky.  How am I supposed to do this if I don’t know what to freaking buy?  I don’t have kids.  I’ve been out of high school since 1992.  I have no earthly idea what kids are supposed to have by way of school supplies these days.

Needless to say, I’m not real impressed with the people running this program.  You want people to participate?  Then make it easy for them.  Give them a list of things to buy.  Don’t assume they know what to get or that Walmart has the damn list.  Our assigned kid will be lucky if he gets anything at all because of how half-assed this program is being run.

 

